top of page

The members of the European Union

The EU was not always as big as it is today. When European countries started to cooperate economically in 1951, only Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands participated.

Over time, more and more countries decided to join. The Union currently counts 27 EU countries. The United Kingdom withdrew from the European Union on 31 January 2020.


Click on the following link to discover the European countries that are members of the European Union:

On a physical blank map, locate the European countries that are currently members of the European Union. On one side of the map create a list with the countries and capitals. 

By the end of the class, send the map to your teacher's email. You can scan it or send a photograph. 


bottom of page